Nothing spectacular


Old store building at Oil Trough AR. Somewhat the worse for wear, but hanging on.

Old store building at Oil Trough AR. Somewhat the worse for wear, but hanging on.

The story of this old store building at Oil Trough AR started on the Photo of the Week page at corndancer.com. Check it out. There were thousands of local stores like this which did not make the cut when times changed and or business conditions became, shall we say, rough.

Although some may consider the old building to be an eyesore, I believe there are legions of those, who like myself, consider the old structures like this to be rough-edged treasures, serving to remind us of our past. Even in micro environments, there is value to knowing from whence you came, one would think.

If the sign is true, perhaps the last proprietors were in the antiques business. But in the words of the great Fats Waller, " ... one nevah know, do one?"

If the sign is true, perhaps the last proprietors were in the antique business. But in the words of the great Fats Waller, ” … one nevah know, do one?”

Thanks for dropping by,
Joe Dempsey

5 Responses

  1. This was a grocery store – Cousins on my dad’s side ran this store. we always stopped there on the way to visit my aunt in Oil Trough

    • Kay, thanks for looking and providing this information.
      Joe Dempsey

    • They are part of my distant family too (Melton)! My name in Grant I live in Minnesota now but when I was a kid living in Fort Smith we would always stop there on our way to visit my mothers family in New Port and Oil Trough. I want to say the owners name was Miss Ruby but I could be wrong I haven’t been there in 20 years but I was glad to see it was still there! Anyone know how old the building is? I had a friend a few years ago make a drawing from some shots I took of the place in 1997.

  2. one of the other websites listed the building at 90 years old but not sure when that was posted. And one of the only buildings left standing after the Great Tornado. Miss Violet was the owners name but for some reason the name Ruby rings a bell too! Oh well it was good to see it again!

Leave a Reply

