Oh deer!


Four point white tail buck at Petit Jean Mountain

This fine young buck was the most cooperative critter on the face of God’s green earth for a few minutes October 25, 2013.

Sometimes fortune follows a foul-up and October 25 was one of those days. Earlier in the day, while photographing a reunion of the class of 1956 of Fort Smith Senior High School (now known as “North Side),” I entertained my classmates and their spousal units by meeting the surface of Petit Jean Mountain with my person in full view of all. I can say without hesitation that, at the time, it smarted. Despite being red-faced and a tad sore, I discovered later that the damage went no further than skin deep.

After being patched up, I returned to my intended target area, a road running between the base of the mountain and the Arkansas River. There is no doubt the delay of getting a local doctor to patch up an abrasion set me up to see a fine four-point Whitetail buck grazing in a pasture beside the road.

Not only did he stay after I stopped, grabbed the “Kodak,” rolled the window down and started to shoot, he remained still while I changed to a longer lens. He apparently decided that since I was no threat, he would continue munching out on the rich grass of the pasture. On several occasions, I whistled at him to convince him to get his head out of his grass and look at me. When that stopping working, I revved the engine on the truck.  Finally, I bade farewell and proceeded down the road.

White tail buck deer at Petit Jean Mountain

I believe the deer finally became bored with my presence.

Barn roof on ground

Click on the barn roof and check out the story of a barn with no walls.

As I proceeded down the road, my luck continued. I found a barn roof on the ground, less an attached barn underneath. I document and illustrate this odd finding on the Photo of the Week page at Corndancer Dot-Com. Go there and see this heretofore unseen phenomenon and learn how to deal with those things for which you cannot find an answer, and really don’t amount to a flip any way.

view from petit jean mountain

Some 11-hundred feet or so above the deer and me, the view from Petit Jean Mountain overlook was fine.

At the end of the day, I determined that a bit of bodily injury put me in the position to meet this buck. Early on in my career as a human being, I discovered that occasionally one must play in pain.  I have no complaints being the recipient of a camouflaged blessing —and to be truthful, the hurt from the crash was not that much.

Order prints

Click here to order prints of this week’s Weekly Grist and Corndancer pictures of the deer and the barn.

Thanks for dropping by,

Joe Dempsey
Weekly Grist for the Eyes and Mind

http://www.joedempseyphoto.com/
http://www.joedempseycommunications.com/
http://www.corndancer.com/joephoto/photohome.html

3 Responses

  1. Ouch. Hope the “wounds” are better.
    That deer, kind of him – couldn’t have posed better
    Love the barn descending!

  2. You suffered for your art! And so worth it for those of us who can enjoy!!

  3. […] I had time to make the trip to the subject road. Click here, or on the deer to see the original post with another picture of the deer and a neat mountain top […]

Leave a Reply

