Miss Donkey Congeniality


Donkey with head in pickup truck on levee near Elaine Arkansas

I’ve always considered donkeys a worthy Nikon target since one does not frequently find them. When I spotted this herd, I slowed the truck and grabbed the camera hoping to get some good shots out the window. Little did I know that opening the window was an open invitation for one of the critters to make numerous attempts to become better acquainted. Shortly after I stopped the truck “Miss Congeniality” stuck her nose in the truck window. It was after this first visit I knew I had to do a fast lens change.

Link to Corndancer dot-com

Click the pic to see levee pictures at Corndancer dot-com.

If you’ve never come nearly nose-to-nose with a friendly donkey, I can tell you from experience; it is far from harrowing if you keep your wits about you. I was traveling on a levee west of Elaine, Arkansas when I encountered a small herd of friendly donkeys accompanied an equally friendly Palomino horse.

See more pictures

Before we pursue this epistle too much further, I invite you to take a look at the Photo of the Week Page at Corndancer dot-com, where the tale had its beginnings. This is part of a levee trip that looks at levee cattle and some nice reflections, all of which are available only from the levee. We’ll wait here while you look.

Back to the donkeys

I made a slow approach and came to a gentle stop. The herd immediately closed on the truck and was ready to socialize. One of the friendly beasts stuck her head in the truck and I realized I had to change lenses if I intended to get any decent pictures. Imagine changing lenses with a donkey nose in close proximity to your own schnozzle.

Horse looking in pickup truck window

After the quick lens change, my first visitor retired and let the horse take a gander.

Donkies and mules looking a pickup truck

Then they all backed off, so I started talking to the group and stuck my head out the window to see if they would return.

Donkies looking a pickup truck on a levee near Elaine Arkansas

The white critter heard my plea and returned.

 

Donkey putting head in pickup truck window

She was soon joined by her more inquisitive friend who proceeded to give me the donkey welcome-wagon treatment. She continued to poke her head in the window and decided she wanted to see how the turn-signal handle tasted. Fortunately for me, she did not care for it. Then she made a few more gestures. Finally the white donkey retired from the scene and the palomino replaced her and the inquisitive donkey moved in front of the truck. The next seven pictures show that sequence.

Donkey head in driver side window of pickup truck

Hey dude, what’s shakin’?

 

Driver of pickup truck petting donkey with head in pickup truck window

She looked like she was good for a nose rub. This is a selfie with a the lens at 10mm.

Ummm ... I've always heard these things were tasty!

Ummm … I’ve always heard these things were tasty!

Donkies looking in pickup truck

Oops … that thing was a bit on the bitter side.

Donkies with head in pickup truck window

Boy, you got any other munchies in this ol’ truck ?

Horse and donkey sticking their heads in pickup truck window

Hey dude, meet my good friend, Ms. Horse

Miss Congeniality decided to park in front of the truck. Remembering the legendary stubbornness of a donkey, I decided to offer a treat she could not resist. I rolled the right door window down, asked her she’d like to come around and she immediately took the bait. Within a few seconds a pair of familiar ears showed in the passenger side window. BTW, the cup contained a giant size Barq’s Root Beer.

Then she was at it again, poking her head in the window. I eased on the accelerator to very slowly pull away lest she repair to the front of the truck again. The prospects of waiting for a stubborn donkey did not bode well with the rest of my plans for the day.

Donkey standing in front of trucl

I’m in my stubborn mode.

Donkey looking in passenger side pickup truck window

Hey! This thing has two windows!

Donkey sticking head inside truck window

Hey Dude! It’s me again.

By then it was 4:30 p.m. and home was two hours away. If I departed then I would be home after dark, but would arrive in time to see the Arkansas Razorbacks wallop the LSU Tigers 17-0. It was a very good day.

Abandoned farm house

This house was a “been-gone,” meaning that I “been-gone” shoot it. This was the day. The old house is on Arkansas Highway 1, north of DeWitt.

I made one additional stop. I have passed this old farm house on Arkansas Highway 1 north of DeWitt a jillion times. On each occasion I make a resolution to shoot it on the next trip. I pulled up beside it and decided that today was the “next trip.” That made it an even better day.

Thanks for looking.

Joe Dempsey,
Weekly Grist for the Eyes and Mind

http://www.joedempseycommunications.com/
http://www.joedempseyphoto.com/
http://www.corndancer.com/joephoto/photohome.html

2 Responses

  1. Very cute! Such sweeties!

  2. […] in one-handed wide angle shooting since the camera to subject distance was minimal at best. Click here to see our original […]

Leave a Reply

