Rock houses and other recent finds redux


 Hickory Flat rock buildings

Click on the old buildings to see our original October 2012 post — lots of stuff.

Back in October of 2012, while in North Arkansas, I decided to find as many “rock houses” as I could for my photo prosaic pursuits. In polite circles, these domiciles would probably be called “native stone homes.” I doubt that moniker was applied very much in North Arkansas (or LA either).

Disappointment salved

I did not find as many rock houses as I would have liked.  But, my meandering resulted in finding other interesting old home sites,  a barn, and a silo, all of which salved my disappointment with the lower inventory of my preferred target. See all of these fortuitous finds in our original October 2012 post.

dog trot house at cleveland arkansas

Click on the old dogtrot house and see a bunch more pictures.

In our sister article for the week we reported on finding an old dogtrot house at Cleveland, Arkansas. Well “finding” it may be a stretch. One would have to be blindfolded to miss it.

On the other hand, we were fortunate to find a person who had first had knowledge of the house, its former occupants, and the community of Cleveland in general. He is a retired minister with a good sense of humor. Check it the old house and the preacher’s wit on the Photo of the Week page at Corndancer dot-com.